The Loss Of Your Life (april 16, 2009)

If you could come back again
just once so i can ask you a question,
was it worth your death
to continue to smoke cigarettes?

You were diagnosed and received your surgery.
When i saw you weak, i fought myself from crying.
It was only a year later, you’d be gone.
The cancer came back and was too strong.

Now i’m broken from within
time won’t take away the burning sting
that erupts my tears cause you’re not here
to give any guidance.

What’s worse is you had that 2nd chance,
one last chance to quit, but you didn’t.
I guess it’s that powerful of an addiction
and I’ll never believe anyone who’ll say they’ll stop.

I’ve heard that promise so many damn times,
they’ll never be able to drop what controls their minds.
Your eyes are shut tight underneath starry night skies.
My mind will never mend from the loss of your life.

How am i supposed to feel
when the one who brought me into this world has disappeared?
This burning sting has broken me into nothing –
a gaping numbness.

I look at the red light blinking
on top of mount beacon
with the little star to the left
and I know you were following me home tonight again

This small city is beautiful in some ways
but the streets have become haunted with your face
at the places you’ve been
that you can never see again.

I’m going to miss this town I grew up in
but it’s not the same with you buried in it
I really got to leave this behind
and start a new life.

I got to get away to a new place
cause if I don’t, I’ll die alive.
Your eyes are shut tight underneath starry night skies.
My mind will never mend from the loss of your life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

